Tags

, , ,

Been working fairly intensively on the final phase of the GDP3 module, focusing on creating an evocative book of thoughts based on the Wall Street Crash of 1929. To coincide with the other design pieces from the module; the series of 3 typographic posters and the information design, I have been conscious to maintain a degree of consistency yet also not repeat myself too stylistically, moving forward gradually so that each piece stands alone yet also compliment each other when placed in a series.

From early on I made the decision to adopt a hand bound technique, using sewing rather than glue. This was based on a couple of reasons;

1) To link with the period of the Wall Street Crash and convey a greater degree of history and the personal emotions involved, hand sewing will help communicate a sense of craft and imperfection.

2) As I wanted to print onto a more grainy material, such as sugar or hand made paper, the idea of a PVA spine didn’t seem too appealing.

3) I have been interested in book binding for so long, I was itching to try out different stitching patterns.

On Friday I visited Shepherds/Falkiners Book Binding shop in Southampton Row, and instantly fell in love with the place. I could have spent a fortune! But I was good, and stuck to buying the things I needed, which were;

– Hand Dyed Wax Linen Thread – in two colours; burnt red and violet

– Small Book Binding Needles

– Bodkin (Awl)

– Hand Made Books DVD – in case I need help!

I practiced a range of sewing techniques from 3 to 6 hole variation method stitching to japanese binding, before settling upon a simplistic 3 hole method with the knot showing on both the outer spine as well as in the centre fold. This technique helped to produce a neat, clean spine edge, working well with the thickness of the linen thread, and meant that my pages remained in tact without too many holes being punched through them.

After having resolved initial pagination problems, printing onto my desired sugar paper turned into a disaster, the ink just not wanting to take, deciding to explode over each and every page that passed through it. I am pleased the end result looked awful, as changing to a thin textured card of the same tone has actually made the whole book far more sturdy and professional without loosing any of the eclectic appeal.

Below you can see some of my initial sewing techniques, as well as my first attempt at book binding with the designs printed onto sugar paper. Once final touches have been made, I will post my final book version up here.

Your thoughts are welcomed šŸ™‚

Material Purchases from Shepherds/Falkiners

Diamond 5 Hole Stitch

Diamond 5 Hole Stitch Interior

5 Hole Spine Stitch

Interior Pop Up Diamond

Printing Gone Wrong!

1st Printing Test Exterior

1st Printing Test Interior

2nd Printing Test Exterior Spine

2nd Printing Test Inside Pages

2nd Printing Test Inside Pages

2nd Printing Test Inside Pages

2nd Printing Test Inside Pages

