Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having received confirmation that my eagerly awaited Blurb Thesis Book creation is on its way, I have been focusing on completing the finishing touches to my own booklet copies. (I thought it would be sensible to print and bind my own versions just in case the Blurb copy failed to arrive in time for the deadline. This decision also gave me the opportunity to explore materials, colours and sizes in a far more flexible way than I could with the professional print).

Having planned to apply the cover design using the chine colle printing process – a way to invest a degree of texture and character to compliment the rest of the fairly scientific, functional design – and completing some initial tests of this, I soon realised that the overall clarity was far too ‘grungy’ for the appeal I was aiming towards. The ideal technique it would seem would be screen printing, especially considering three colours and black are required, and although I hope to experiment a great deal with this technique within my practical project, there really isn’t much time left available for this to work for the thesis module.

Instead, to synthesize themes raised within the thesis such as geometry, perspective and illusion, I have decided to implement embossing into the cover design. Initially, the aim was to emboss alternate circular lines on the design below, the front cover circle producing a raised appeal, whilst the back circle would have a de-bossed effect, a way to encourage alternate depth and a sense of visual movement.

Circle Inner Cover

However trying to achieve 2 accurate stencils for such a design (2 stencils are needed to sandwich the paper ready for creating an embossed effect) proved near on impossible, and freehand attempts failed to provide me with the desired amount of impression. The finished examples below therefore illustrate an alternative idea, the circular element, transfered to a smaller icon / logo and placed on the mini front covers. A way to synthesize all of the elements together. Hopefully this implementation has resulted in a more sophisticated and subtle adoption of this embossing technique and reflects the aims of the thesis issues raised within.

Embossed Mini Covers

Embossed Mini Covers

Embossed Mini Covers

Embossed Detail

Embossed Detail

Thesis Booklets

Thesis Booklets

Inner Pages Detail

Inner Pages Detail

Inner Pages Detail

Inner Pages Detail

As you can see from the images, the booklets are yet to be staple bound as I am still undecided as to what the final choice should be for the green paper, in natural light both colour options compliment the design so it may be a case of ip, dip, do . . .

As soon as my Blurb version arrives, I will post some images alongside this post to compare the quality and overall aesthetic appeal.

All comments and suggestions welcome.

