Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having spent the last couple of months engrossed in creating my own hand rendered and digital collages, I was thrilled to discover a couple of weeks ago that Berlin based publishers, Die Gestalten Verlag, were releasing a brand new book dedicated entirely to contemporary collage. ‘Cutting Edges’ is a compilation of artists, designers and illustrators who implement collage as a primary medium within their designs, who have been chosen by James Gallagher – a renowned hand made collage artist.

The blurb reads:

‘Cutting Edges documents the new heyday of collage in current art and visual culture. Today’s artists, illustrators and designers are increasingly drawn to this artistic technique by the challenges of seamlessly melding traditional craftsmanship with skilled computer montage. They are not only comprising a wide variety of visual elements, but are also deliberately omitting, deleting and destroying them. This book is an inspiring collection of these unique examples of contemporary collage.’


I received my copy a few days ago and believe that it is the best £28 I have ever spent.

The overall quality of the book itself is superior to many other art and design books I own, the hardcover finished with a matt yet textured covering, the inside layout kept minimal and sensitive towards the diverse content held within, with every other page containing a full spread illustration example. The preface by Gallagher and background information of collage by Dr. Silke Krohn are insightful and raise questions which could be benefitial to document within my own project. The only slight annoyance being the chosen body typeface for the outer cover and image reference titles – ‘Sensaway’ has spaces for the joins in almost all of its letters, resulting in a lightweight font that is difficult to read, creating a blurred appearance especially when printed in a light turquoise colour.

These are just a few examples from the book, I have discovered so many new favourites, as well as rediscovered some old gems, which I hope will continue to feed into my current and future designs. This book is so worth the money, so if you have an interest in collage, the interaction between type and image or just enjoy the act of cutting and pasting, I would definitely recommend picking up a copy!

On a side note, lots of developments are being made regarding my final project, and I am hoping to further concentrate on the designing of my actual book to bring together all aspects of image / word / sound over the next 2 – 3 weeks.

Expect an update post with more details soon 🙂



