Tags

, , , , , ,

Whilst paying a flying visit to one of my current favourite design blogs, Not Paper, I chanced upon a new collage artist who left me feeling not only completely in awe, inspired and somewhat mesmerized but also greatly tempted to take a slight deviation and actually take the plunge in experimenting with something that I have been contemplating doing for a while now. Although my project is hugely based around 2D design concepts and purposes, I have already explored the possibility of implementing a three dimensional element, with the aid of my View-Master slides, which will be printed in America. I am super excited about the effect this medium will have and feel it will be of enormous benefit when showcasing my concepts in my final exhibitions.

However, I have also been exploring the possibility of creating some form of moving image collage which could relate back to my presentation for the concepts and ideas module, and again reference the image / word / sound link perfectly. There are many reasons as to why this idea hasn’t of yet been taken any further, the primary difficulty mainly being in relation to the length of time such a feature would take to create, and I have been more concerned with ensuring that I produce a strong body of work consisting of 2D illustrations / 3D View-Master slides and accompanying book rather than taking on too many disparate entities at once.

This video example certainly changes my mind. Although I am one who likes to ‘follow her instinct’ I am very much undecided on this one. Should I follow my heart or my head? I’m afraid this may need to remain just an aspiration for a future project . . .

Nathaniel’s description for these ‘motion collages’ reads:

‘For the past several months I’ve been cutting up and digitally collaging together short films/music videos entirely out of old National Geographic magazines. For lack of a better term, I’ve been calling them “motion collages.”

After scanning in my cut outs, I collage together scenes and then subtly inject them with life using AfterEffects. The results are slowly paced audio/visual stories that have been said to “make you feel like someone something slipped into your coffee.”

What do you think?


