Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Having received my 3D ViewMaster slides at the beginning of the week I was feeling positive about my remaining workload and looking very much forward to attending the opening night of Pick Me Up @ Somerset House. The contemporary graphic art fair was a huge success last year, and with numerous live events and print studios showcasing their work, this year certainly didn’t disappoint either. The first live event was yesterday evening running from 6-9pm.

Titled ‘Heavy Pencil’ the event consisted of a selection of illustrators producing live drawings in response to live music and poetry readings, the results of which were projected onto one of the gallery walls for everyone to see the stages of each drawing and the techniques used by each illustrator. This theme fitted perfectly with the aims of my project, centered around interpretations from written and aural stimuli so I was interested in seeing the results.

I have posted some pictures below from the event, including some of the work that was showcased in the main gallery and the action within the print studios. The Anthony Burrill workshop was a hive of activity, with tables and benches littered with paper, pens and other materials available for you to sit down and get creative for free. The live drawing sessions were really interesting in seeing how well known illustrators begin their drawings, the choice of media they use and how none of the participating illustrators worked in pencil prior to finalising the design. Some video footage from the event was taken, links of which will be placed on Scott Coleman’s blog in due course.

A small purchase was made in the form of a book based on poetry and illustrative interpretations (think I may have tapped into an up and coming trend here!) which can be seen below as well.

Pick Me Up @ Somerset House runs until the end of March and is well worth a £5/£7 entry fee 🙂

Digital Arts Magazine April 2011 Issue

Having been contacted a few weeks ago by a freelance writer about an up coming feature for Digital Arts Magazine, I jumped at the chance to be involved. Said feature was based on Mixed Media Art, investigating the hand rendered and digital processes that artists use when creating mixed media illustrations.

The April Issue came out a couple of days ago, and I was pleased to see a couple of my illustrations were showcased alongside some of my comments made about the process and how I like to work.

Some of the images can be seen below, better close ups will be taken shortly!

[These first two images are taken from the Digital Arts online website, the top far right image in the first picture is my work.]


Thank you to Eva Peaty and everyone @ Digital Arts Magazine for including me within this feature 🙂


